Mens Section

Men's 2024 Captain - Mr Malcolm Pumphrey

Welcome to the Men's Section. We are looking forward to a fantastic year of golf in 2024. We hope you can join us as a member, visiting team or as a casual guest.

- Malcolm -
Swipe left or right to view images.

Men’s 1st Team

Thirsk and Northallerton 1st team compete in the Harrogate and District Union against all of the other 11 clubs in the Union, the 1st team plays for two trophies throughout the season, Firstly the scratch trophy which is made up of the 4 lowest handicap players in each club and play each other off scratch. The rest of the team play on the same day compromising of 4 pairs matches the first pair is made up of the Gents captain and club professional, all four pairs play match play off handicap. The results from all 8 matches on the day gives a team score which is the 2nd and overall Trophy. Thirsk and Northallerton won the overall first team trophy in 2018.

Saturday Swindle (Saturday Roll up) *

The Gents section operates a roll up on Saturday morning which is open to all members at 10.00am (Saturday Swindle). The swindle is run by the members and is not a club competition but is open to everyone who has a club handicap, the format of the day can vary depending on numbers and conditions and to keep good variation and create a friendly atmosphere.

Dales Alliance *

Thirsk and Northallerton are part of a Spring and Autumn Dales Alliance league compromising of 6 clubs, Thirsk & Northallerton, Bishop Auckland, Bedale, Blackwell Grange, Catterick and Crook. There are 12 fixtures throughout the season, six in the spring and six in the Autumn. The Dales Alliance teams consists of 5 pairs from each club in every round of fixtures, points are awarded for the overall team scores on the day and the winning team with the most overall points is the winner after the 12 rounds. This is open to all club players with a club handicap.

Men's Second Team

The Thirsk and Northallerton Mens 2nd team is open to all players with a current handicap between 8 and 15 ( higher handicap players can play but only 15 strokes are allowed ).

The majority of clubs within the Harrogate Union are represented by a 2nd team playing for the Bainbridge Shield.

Matches are played during the summer months on an evening with the first tee time between 4 - 4.30.

Each team consists of 12 players including the current Vice Captain who plays off his normal club handicap. The format is 4BBB match play taking 9/10 from the lowest handicap player, 2 points are awarded for a win and 1 point for a draw.
Presently 9 teams take part playing on an alternate 2 year cycle of home and away matches, giving each team 4 home and 4 away matches.

All players are welcome to enjoy a competitive series of matches played in a friendly atmosphere.

The photos show Thirsk and Northallerton's 2020 Bainbridge Shield winning team.